8 Heisman Trophy Winners in the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Brian Bahr/Getty Images

On Saturday, December 13, the Downtown Athletic Club is going to crown the 2014 Heisman Trophy award winner. There will likely be four or five candidates invited to the trophy presentation in New York City, but it is now basically a forgone conclusion that Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota will become the first Heisman winner in the history of the Ducks’ football program. Coincidentally, Mariota is also a near lock to be a top-five overall pick and the first quarterback taken in the 2015 NFL Draft. Winning the Heisman Trophy will make Mariota a legend in Oregon and in the college football annals, but as history has shown, winning the Heisman doesn’t guarantee success in the National Football League. In fact, the majority of the Heisman winners through the years have had minimal success in the NFL. Mariota appears to have the make-up, both physically and mentally, to have an excellent and long-lasting NFL career, but only time will tell if his ability translates to success at the professional level.

Mariota’s status as probable Heisman Trophy winner and likely top-five NFL Draft pick, raises the question: How many Heisman Trophy winners have gone on to be elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame? The answer is eight. Charles Woodson will likely make it nine when he retires from the NFL, and Tim Brown has a legitimate chance at joining this exclusive club one day as well. With that being said, here is a look at the eight players who have won a Heisman Trophy and gone on to be elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.